Meditation practice

I wanted to share my experience recently. It might help those of you who have a hard time in large gatherings.  I attended a funeral of someone who committed suicide. Which would normally would cause me a lot of problems beyond just “typical” grief. (Whatever that means.). The overwhelming feelings of others, all that, that I tend to pick up on being emotionally…sensitive.

Prior to this event I’ve been practicing a meditation where I picture my inhale of breath as the ocean pulling away from shore, and my exhale as the wave crashing onto the sand. The sound is similar, and it grounds me.

At this funeral I was seated in an upper balcony at a large church. I practiced my meditation, picturing my breath and the core of the wave starting in my chest and sweeping over me and out of my body. It carried everyone’s grief out and away with each breath. I used the image to wash everyone in the service with color, with calm, with peace, with a shared feeling of love for this person we lost. Sometimes it looked like water, sometimes it looked like ribbons of silk. Every time I felt the darkness invading me, I would refocus my breath and send my good energy out.

I did it the entire service, and in the reception area outside afterwards. And I sit here after, not completely drained, actually feeling like my love and empathy helped others without words. I am tired, but not in a way that I would have been at this sort of event a year ago.

I decided to draw it, the best I could.  Maybe it will help you too!

~ by collidescopes on September 17, 2018.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.