Mosaic update

Now that the mosaic has been in awhile, I am really appreciating it.  I love the reflections in the pool…

I love the way the sun travels across it, giving watery effects…

I love seeing the little special details within the glass, like bubbles…

And how the sunlight shows gentle striations in the color…

 

I have purchased this gorgeousness for the top edge.  I love how it resembles sea foam.  I won’t be able to install it until I get my tile guy out to cut a few edges.  I don’t have that kind of equipment.

Most of the mosaic has held up really well.  I am noticing some cracking in one spot, of course my favorite spot.  The center of the wave.

It’s very puzzling to me because it is in the center of the blocks, on top of the backer board.  I just can’t imagine it is getting much flexing there.

Yet…

I also can say I wish I had used a lighter glass for the lips of my Hawaiian fish.  They don’t show well from a distance.  Just lessons for next time.

I have now begun mosaicking the stepping stones, using a few glow in the dark tiles as accents.  These have not been grouted yet.  I will finish these and probably start the second half of the wall in November.

 

 

 

~ by collidescopes on October 1, 2017.

2 Responses to “Mosaic update”

  1. I love your work…. it’s so beautiful !!!! I also love your philosophy 💗

Leave a Reply

 
