What depression looks like

What depression looks like (to me) (on this particular day).

I don’t want to freak anyone out.  I’m “Fine”…  Meaning, I have these phases, I know what they look like, my loved ones are monitoring me and I am not in any physical danger.  Not a cry for help.  I just thought it might be useful to share this piece of artwork with you.

I decided to draw how it feels right now.  I didn’t get it quite right–it feels like a slow moving wave of frozen black water.  You know how meat freezes and it gets that shard-y look to it?  That is kind of what it looks like in my mind.  Spiraling and moving forward slowly.  And bits of everything around it just get sliced and absorbed into it and it is all there is left.  The drawing came out prettier than it really is.  Call it the artist’s flaw.

Depression doesn’t always look this way to me–I have seen it look almost like a blob of chocolate pudding that just gloms onto everything and makes life indiscernible.  I have seen it look like a crack in the pavement.  Many images, really.

But this is what depression looks like today.

Click on it to view closer up.  Black and white colored pencil, graphite, on grey paper.

~ by collidescopes on April 18, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
