New mosaic project

My pony wall that hides my pool equipment is boring.  I have decided to correct this problem.  I got a bunch of stained glass from my sister, and I am putting it to good use!

I started out kinda overwhelmed.  I didn’t know what glass to put where.  I would walk into my studio, stare at it and walk out.

img_5128

My friend had the brilliant idea to take photos, put it on the computer, print it out then cut out the pieces so I could picture it.  She even did it for me.

img_5145

I am doing this one on a backer board so I can work in my studio instead of out in the weather.

img_5348

img_5352

I have this sticky mesh for projects, but some of the glass here was transparent and I didn’t want to see the mesh through it.  So I had to hand transfer the pieces to mortar.

img_5380

img_5423

img_5471

Ya know, no matter how passionate you are about your art, sometimes this stuff gets tedious.  Not gonna lie.

img_5477

So that is how far along I am at this point!  I will keep giving you updates as I go.  I’m pretty excited, this is only one section.  By far  my most ambitious mosaic yet!

~ by collidescopes on February 20, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
