Quote inspired acrylic painting

So I am reading this book, Stumbling on Happiness, by Daniel Gilbert. I got it from the library, but now I have to buy it, because I have the irresistable urge to underline it and draw pictures all over it…Fascinating stuff.
Anyway, I got to this statement, and I had to slam the book shut and go to the studio. It is so profound. He really was talking about the flaws in this kind of research, the research of the human emotion, but I realized it applied to real life as well.
“If we have a deep scratch on our eyeglasses and don’t know it, we may erroneously conclude that a small crack has opened in the fabric of space and is following us everywhere we go. But if we are cognizant of the scratch, we can do our best to factor it out of our observations, reminding ourselves that what looks like a rip in space is really just a flaw in the device we are using to observe it.”
 This is why, my friends, it is a wise investment to know yourself. It is a worthwhile thing, to be aware of your tics and quirks and weirdnesses, so that when you view the world, you don’t think that the world is truly as warped as your vision. For one example, I know I can get disillusioned easily, which can put me in a pissy mood, and can damage my relationships…but if I catch it early, I can remind myself that it is just that particular scratch on my lens. Yes, the moment might not be exactly how I pictured it to be, but I can look around and find ten things about it that are actually pretty cool. And that just might save me, and everyone around me, from a lot of heartache. And actually point me in the direction of gratitude.
A life of gratitude is well lived. All by remembering to be aware of the flaw in my observational devices. This has many applications…still pondering them all…
So I painted. To remind myself. Hope you like it.
IMG_3741
~ by collidescopes on September 2, 2016.

One Response to “Quote inspired acrylic painting”

  1. Lovely

Leave a Reply

 
