Word of the Year

I have been drawing a blank on my word of the year.  (The practice of, instead of Resolution-izing the New Year to death with deals I will break, I pick a word that is a theme for the year that may guide me into a different kind of living.)  I have used Here and Now, and Enough, and Shmita as a few examples.

Last night I was watching a show on channel 8 about genes and lifestyle and he kept using the phrase ‘self-care’.  I started ruminating on what that actually meant and how powerful it is to attach that intention onto your actions.

What if brushing my teeth was viewed, not as a tedious daily chore, but as an act of self-care?  What if choosing healthy foods wasn’t punishment for jean size, but as an act of self care?  What if stopping a train of thought that was bad for me wasn’t another shaming “you shouldn’t be thinking this way” but was “I care about you so let’s find something else to do”?  What if keeping an organized, clean home wasn’t my duty, but a way to surround myself with an environment that nourishes me?

Practice self-care.

But I will insert a great word into it, depending on my activity.  “Practice extravagant self-care” when I am taking a bath and I use the yummy scented candles.  “Practice peaceful self-care” when an argument with someone is carefully kept in proper perspective and not allowed to spiral into shame or rage.  “Practice healthy self-care” when I stretch or ice or use the tens unit on my back, rather than feel like it is a waste of time and if I wasn’t ‘weak’ I wouldn’t have to do it. “Practice empowering self-care” when I ask for what I need in a straightforward but polite manner, instead of mentally cowering and feeling apologetic for being on this planet and needing anything.  “Practice nurturing self-care” when I immerse myself in nature.

Basically it is me caring for myself as I would a friend.

I like it.

What is your word of the year?  Have you decided?

 

~ by collidescopes on January 2, 2016.

2 Responses to “Word of the Year”

  1. This is a challenging and useful concept, and I like the way you’ve framed it: ‘caring for myself as I would a friend’ strips it of the ‘ought to’ and ‘for your own good’ baggage.

    My word for this year is ‘exploration’.

Leave a Reply

 
