Galapagos Map

I wanted to talk about the techniques I used making my map of Galapagos, that I shared on my travel blog, Galapagos through the Eyes of an Artist, 2.  Since this is more of my artist’s blog, after all.

I had bought this print on the islands.

IMG_2512

I then used gel medium and a hard backboard to mount it with printed paper.

IMG_0562

IMG_0568

This little scrap talked about memory, a nod to myself to hold all the memories that I have of these trips.

IMG_0567

The map started to blend into the background too much so I shaded the edges.

IMG_2513

This part of the map I didn’t care for much, so I found these printed stamps to place there instead.  I decided it was appropriate, since Galapagos was first discovered by Spain, and many of the islands’ names still reflect those beginnings.

IMG_0566

 

IMG_0565

This little scrap had traverse on it, but also on the larger sheet, it said “2 times 3 equals 6. 3 times 3 equals 9.”  It is embossed into the surface, subtly.  The bit I needed just happened to have ‘2 times’ and ‘3 times.’  This is my imbedded wish.  I went twice, and I want to go again…and again…  I love when my art has little secrets in it, sometimes not even fully intended!

I used stencils and splatters and glazes of color to help the overall design.

IMG_0570

Marking the islands!

IMG_0569

I liked that this scrapbook paper had the world map on it to show my home and Galapagos’ location off of Ecuador!

 

 

~ by collidescopes on December 24, 2015.

3 Responses to “Galapagos Map”

  1. this is so cool, i am in love with your map!

  2. […] You can view it here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
