World Map

This project has been on my mind as a concept for a long time.  Since my husband and I are travelers, I wanted to do a world map that we could mark our journeys on.  But…I didn’t really want to try to draw the world.  Call it lazy, call it perfectionism, call it whatever.  Then I ran across this:

IMG_7331

A corkboard.  Map.  It’s the world, on corkboard, ready for me!  PERFECTION!  I was already in the middle of a project, so I just kinda put stuff right on top of it.  My studio became a creative tornado zone!

IMG_7340

I mounted the corkboard onto another board to give it some strength and to straighten it out.  (It came rolled up.)  I didn’t know exactly what I was going for, so I just started to play.

IMG_7332

IMG_7335

I used gel medium to anchor down some paper.

IMG_7337

I began using stencils and some beautiful swirl paper I had left over from another project.  I noticed the gel medium was changing the color of the cork, so I went ahead and gave the whole surface a coat of it for consistency.

IMG_7341

I wanted to try this technique, where I coat the paper with gel medium then pull it off, so that it leaves behind the imprint but no color.  (Gel medium dries clear, so the white you see will go away.)

IMG_7342

These photos are just showing my progress.

IMG_7343

I had these old envelopes, and I thought this was a good use for one.

IMG_7346

IMG_7347

IMG_7348

I ended up arguing with the corner I had done the gel medium imprint a lot.  I like the idea, I just didn’t practice enough with it before applying it to a piece I really want to turn out.  In the end, I sanded it down and that effect seemed to work.

IMG_7351

The finished piece, photographed outside.  (My studio lighting isn’t ideal for photography.)

IMG_7352

Details

IMG_7354

Oh, and I used vellum with words and designs on some of the continents.  If you do this, know that vellum doesn’t like gel medium.  It buckles.  If you babysit it, and continue to flatten it and work out the kinks as it dries, it works okay but there are still folds and bends.  I used them as “age”.

IMG_7358

IMG_7357

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world.

IMG_7356

IMG_7355

I plan on framing it, so I haven’t put any pins in it to mark our destinations.  I will do that when it comes back from the framers.

 

 

~ by collidescopes on July 22, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
