Encaustics class

I recently took a class at Jerry’s Art O Rama on Encaustics.  Interesting medium.  You start with heated wax, which you can add colorant to, or they sell it pre-mixed.

IMG_8065

IMG_8071 The piece you are looking at is what the artist did as a demo.  The heat moves the color around and gives unique results.  The wax must be fused in between each layer.

IMG_8070You can scrape off bits you don’t like, or want to highlight in some way.

IMG_8069

IMG_8068

While beyond the scope of this class, you can add items to it—such as paper, twigs, lace, etc. for a more layered effect.

IMG_8067

This is the piece I did.

IMG_8074

I don’t know if I will incorporate this type of work into my regular creating, mostly because if I add another medium with all of it’s tools and equipment and specialized “stuff” I think my husband will just about lose it!  But my friend has picked it up with a vengeance and I am sure I will create some things with her in the future!  Watching the wax melt and move the color around was quite mesmerizing.  I can see why people like to create with it!

~ by collidescopes on February 22, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
