Mosaic: Garden brick

IMG_7965

I am getting ready to start another large mosaic work.  So I am doing some practice pieces.  My garden is made of brick, so I thought I would just put some random mosaic art interspersed throughout the place.

IMG_7966

IMG_7967

IMG_7970

Grouted!

IMG_8104

When placing your pieces, be very careful that your mortar stays below the level of the mosaic.  Otherwise when you wipe the grout away, the mortar pops through.  I will try re-grouting this, and building up the height to cover the white mortar better.  In future pieces, I probably won’t have the mortar sit up so high in general, as well.

IMG_8105

IMG_8150

IMG_8151

I like it.  A nice pop of color in a sea of bland brick.  I plan on doing more. 🙂

~ by collidescopes on January 12, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
