Jewelry: Pewter Phoenix

IMG_5397

Another fun melting process!  The first step is to carve the image into cuttlebone–yes, like the stuff you buy for birds.  It is a fragile thing–but really satisfying.  Then once I have my piece carved deep enough, and the surface flat enough, I melt and pour.  Then I had to cut away all the leakage.

This was intended to be a test image in pewter, then re-pour in silver.  But my mold broke from the heat.  I made a second mold, got it to completion and then dropped it on the floor setting up the pour.  It broke also.

Then I thought, that pewter one is pretty cool!

Ok, I gave up.  But I do like the piece.  The texture of the cuttlebone makes for interesting details.

 

 

 

IMG_7135 IMG_7134 IMG_7133 IMG_7132

~ by collidescopes on July 28, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
