Melting Silver

My metalsmithing teacher taught us a new technique.  We melt scraps of silver then pour it into either a water-soaked broom or a pan full of beans.  The silver fills in the empty spaces, creating cool organic shapes.

IMG_5391 IMG_5392

IMG_5398IMG_5393

IMG_5394These pieces didn’t adhere together, so he will redo them.  I chose the beans.  I felt the shape might translate into coral or something.

IMG_5402IMG_5399 IMG_5400Now I have to figure out what to do with them!

~ by collidescopes on November 2, 2013.

One Response to “Melting Silver”

  1. […] showed you recently where I got to melt silver in my college class.  Here is what I did with some of the […]

Leave a Reply

 
