Photo Series: Desert Beauty

I recently returned from a wonderful trip to Washington. (Pictures to follow.)  The weather was in the 70’s and 80’s, and I got to hike without feeling like my blood was turning into hot molasses under my skin. I could stand in the sun and feel kissed instead of sandblasted.  I could breath in the fresh air without feeling like I was standing before my pre-heated oven.  And I played with my friend.

I began to pout on the flight home, watching the gorgeous, lush green scenery turn rust-red, tan, brown.  I did get the gift of seeing the Grand Canyon out my window-seat, but it wasn’t enough to remove the doom I felt when I was greeted with 107 degree heat walking down the tunnel to get off the plane.

Grumble, grouch, grumble.

On my trip I read a book called One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.  It reminded me that I should be actively looking for ways to be grateful.  So yesterday I went out into the desert.  (With lots of water…) and looked for the beauty.  Scouted it.  High and low.  I wasn’t disappointed.  My first gift was a gila monster!  I haven’t seen one of these in years.

IMG_5160

IMG_5160e

Beaded skin, colored pixels of reptile. IMG_5161

I don’t think seeing ME was HIS gift, but he was mine. IMG_5162 IMG_5165 IMG_5170

So much activity, so much life in this scorched land. IMG_5173

IMG_5175

IMG_5178

IMG_5180

IMG_5183

IMG_5186 IMG_5190

Prickly pear fruit to feed the javelina family I saw but didn’t get to photograph. IMG_5191

Bursts of color! IMG_5192

Ring of fire! IMG_5194

IMG_5195

IMG_5197

IMG_5198Turkey vulture and ring of rainbow around the sun.

IMG_5201

IMG_5206

IMG_5210

Yes, it is still a hostile environment.  Yes, it is still hotter than I would like.  But.  BUT.  I can nod to the beauty.  The gifts.  I can be here, now. IMG_5212

With the airconditioning on, thank you very much.

~ by collidescopes on August 20, 2013.

2 Responses to “Photo Series: Desert Beauty”

  1. I really like seeing the flowers in the desert, seeing color in all the dead desert is really beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
