More work on the Mosaic wall

To see a description, click on the Mosaic tag.  This is part of an ongoing large project.

IMG_3576

Clay shrinks funny sometimes, so I brought my template in to see how everything lines up.  Not too bad! IMG_3577

This is one of two “planters” I want to put in the mosaic.  It will hold flowers and plants.  I realized when I finished the bowl portion, I didn’t really give it much for the mortar to grab ahold of…just the rim of the curve.  So I  tilted the top and bottom sections out to ‘catch’ the bowl center portion and help hold it on the wall.  Reverse engineering!IMG_3578Second tree parts and pieces!  I use unfired pieces of clay to encourage it to dry flat.  Clay likes to curl. 😦

IMG_3579

I am also throwing on the wheel this semester.  I think I have improved!  I then used the bowls to test some different greens. IMG_3592

It also teaches me things about the glaze.  For example, this one does not like fingerprints.  Good to know now, not on my mosaic pieces! IMG_3593

~ by collidescopes on March 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
