Sketch: detail of Michelangelo’s Pieta

I had the privilege of seeing some of Michelangelo’s work up close recently. Pictures coming soon!  I wanted to sketch Mary’s face, from his sculpture Pieta in St. Peter’s Basilica.

 

This is just a study–I wasn’t trying, nor would I be able to, copy it perfectly.  Sketches sometimes help me see details I wouldn’t see otherwise.  And it helps me appreciate his work even more!

~ by collidescopes on October 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “Sketch: detail of Michelangelo’s Pieta”

  1. Staci: Your sketches are breathtaking and take me back to a wonderful trip, many memories and meeting new friends. Sharon & Bill Knott

  2. […] client asked me to do a piece based on what I did here… a study of Michelangelo’s Pieta.  When I do these studies, I try not to pressure […]

Leave a Reply

 
