Featured Music: Rupa and the April Fishes

This one is different, my thanks to L. for sharing with me!  I will give you two– Wishful Thinking,  and La Peinture, by Rupa and the April Fishes.  And I will give you the translation of the second one, since it is in French. 🙂  I think it is lovely.

The Painting

with your paintbrush

     two coats of paint

you covered the biggest canvas

          in shades of sadness

    you covered the night sky

                all the stars

        like a too  heavy veil

I can’t see anything

      my love

   how have you painted your absence?

you’ve even covered the moon

       but you haven’t touched its power

              but i stay here

what do you want me to do?

         me who is made of water

            and water doesn’t know

                 how to travel a false path

                       under the silent workings

               of gravity and your eyes

                         i succumb

            my love

why have you painted your absence?

                   even invisible the moon

                        will always pull me towards you

~ by collidescopes on October 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “Featured Music: Rupa and the April Fishes”

  1. Thanks so much for the translation of La Peinture. I love this song and would love to find the french lyrics. I have been searching for weeks. Do you have them? Would you be so kind as to share them with me or point me in the direction of a source where I can find them? Thanks for your time.

Leave a Reply

 
