Living a Half Life, continued…

My most popular post, Living a Half Life, really resonated with a friend of mine.  She asked me to paint it for her.  It was neat to explore the concept in a different media.  (The original being pastel and pencil on paper, and this being acrylics on canvas.) 

Incidentally, the landscapers cut that tree down recently.  I would encourage you to read the story at the link above, so that the painting makes sense.

The canvas is 36 by 48 inches, so I also got to explore it a lot larger than my 14 by 17 inch paper!  With the paint, I was able to add another element of symbolism:  the running paint representing what trickles down from God, and how daily it touches our lives.  And I added the lettering, as well as a butterfly, a bird, and a cat hidden among the branches.  Each means something to my friend.

I love using these wrap-around canvases.  They give a nice 3-D effect.

Highlights from Gal 5:22.  “But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives, he will produce this kind of fruit in us: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control.  Here there is no conflict with the law.”

 I pray she enjoys it as much as I enjoyed creating it for her!

~ by collidescopes on September 20, 2010.

One Response to “Living a Half Life, continued…”

  1. […] The busiest day of the year was September 20th with 70 views. The most popular post that day was Living a Half Life, continued…. […]

Leave a Reply

 
